

## Arkansas Association of Health-System Pharmacists

Contact: Eileen E. Denne, Eileen@arrx.org; office 501-372-5250; cell 571-215-3759

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## ARKANSAS ASSOCIATION OF HEALTH-SYSTEM PHARMACISTS PRESENTS ANNUAL AWARDS

LITTLE ROCK, AR (Oct. 7, 2014) – The Arkansas Association of Health-System Pharmacists (AAHP) presented seven awards to deserving individuals for their contributions to health care organizations and the profession of pharmacy during its Annual Fall Seminar. AAHP hosted more than 200 pharmacists and students at its 48<sup>th</sup> Annual Fall Seminar at the Clarion Hotel Medical Center in Little Rock Oct. 2-3.

"We are proud to recognize our award winners for their exceptional work to improve patient care," said Marsha Crader, Pharm.D., AAHP president. "Hospital pharmacists and pharmacy technicians are dedicated individuals who work closely with other health care professionals to ensure the best outcomes for patients. Our awards help to reward excellence in pharmacy at hospitals and healthsystem settings."

Award winners are worthy professionals who made a significant impact on the profession and contributed to improving patient care over the past 12 to 18 months. 2014 AAHP Award winners include:

**Louise Pope Award for Ongoing Service to the Profession:** Dennis Moore, director of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) North Central Area Medical Center in Batesville.

**Manager of the Year:** Kevin Robertson, Pharm.D., BCPS, Clinical Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice, UAMS, and Pharmacy Clinical Coordinator and Residency Program Director, Baptist Health-North Little Rock.

Clinician of the Year: Jennifer Perry, Pharm.D., Staff Pharmacist, CHI St. Vincent, Little Rock.

**Residency Preceptor of the Year:** Niki Carver, Pharm.D., Director of Pharmacy, Arkansas Continued Care Hospital of Jonesboro.

**Staff Pharmacist of the Year**: Larry Yancey, Pharm.D., Staff Pharmacist, St. Bernards Medical Center, Jonesboro.

**New Practitioner of the Year:** Andrew W. Hodge, Pharm.D. Pharmacy Team Lead, St. Bernards Medical Center, Jonesboro.

Technician of the Year: Holly N. Katayama, CPhT, Baptist Health-North Little Rock.

**About AAHP:** The Arkansas Association of Health-System Pharmacists' mission is to represent members by providing leadership and support in the promotion of pharmaceutical care. AAHP serves its membership by pursuing common goals; through representation to private and public agencies and to the other health care organizations; and by promoting pharmacy as an essential component of the health care team. AAHP is an Academy of the Arkansas Pharmacists Association.

**About APA** Founded in 1882, APA is the statewide professional association representing approximately 2,300 pharmacists in Arkansas. APA strives to further the professional advancement of pharmacists, advocate the value of pharmacy, and safeguard the health and well-being of every Arkansan. Its mission is to advance a professional and business environment for Arkansas pharmacists to be successful and fulfilled in serving patients.

###

417 South Victory Street, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-2923 Phone: 501-372-5250, Fax: 501-372-0546

www.arrx.org